If for any reason while using Workplace your Windows, macOS, Android or iOS device goes out of compliance, it will change the way you work.
Workplace for Windows and macOS
When your Windows or macOS device goes out of compliance, you might be able to continue working in a hosted environment or be signed out until the issue is resolved. Here are the two scenarios, based on your company's device policy:
- Pass checks: If your device passes all checks, you can continue to onboard and have full access to Workplace.
- Fail checks: If the device fails any checks, you can still complete the onboarding process and launch files, apps, and websites in a Hosted environment because you will have limited access to Workplace:
- Local file syncing will be turned off and files will not be available locally.
- The Workplace (S:) drive will be unlinked.
- Clicking the File Manager shortcut (Folder icon/ Windows or Hard drive icon/ Mac) in the desktop app will launch the Workplace (S:) drive in a hosted Windows File Manager.
- You can edit files in a hosted app only.
- Local apps that are not supported in a hosted environment cannot be launched.
NOTE: Some websites can only be accessed in a hosted browser.
You company might not want any work to be accessed if your device is out of compliance.
- Pass checks: When the Strict Policy is enforced, you will only be able to perform business functions when your device passes all compliance checks.
- Fail checks:
- When you are already signed into Workplace and your device goes out of compliance, a 3-minute warning popup window will appear, giving you time to fix the issue. You will not be able to launch any additional apps during this time.
- If you are just signing in and your device does not pass all compliance checks, you can't access Workplace.
Workplace for Browsers
When you're working in Workplace for Browsers, you are subject to the same policies around device compliance as you are when using Workplace for Windows or macOS. If your computer settings change and cause your device to go out of compliance, a banner will appear at the top of the Launch page and the Files, Apps, and Websites sections indicating that you have limited access to Workplace. You can view the details by selecting the Review Compliance Status button.
The good news is that you can continue working using hosted apps, including Office, File Manager, and web browsers.
When you launch an app or website, a green banner will appear at the top of the screen stating that the app will now launch in a hosted environment.
To work with files within Workplace for Browsers, you can still perform many of the actions available when you've got full access to Workplace:
- Preview a file in the appropriate online app
- Edit a file in the appropriate hosted app
- Rename, Copy and Move a file
- View the history of a file
- Delete files
- Create a new folder or Office file
- Upload files (from Hosted File Manager only; you cannot upload files saved on a local drive)
- Share files with co-workers and guest users.
Because file syncing is turned off, you will not be able to download files.
As you can see, you are still able to work in Workplace for Browsers with limited access.
Workplace for Android and iOS
When you have limited access to Workplace, you can continue to use your mobile device for two-step authentication and to access your company directory. Files will be grayed out and not accessible until you remediate the device compliance issues.
Tap Policies to learn which security check has failed, then tap the failed check to view details. If you need help, contact your company manager or click Help in the detail screen.