Every company has a compliance policy in place that states how your computer’s security should be set. The policy might require you to have a screensaver with a password, antivirus software, or to have your hard drive encrypted.
Workplace acts as a gate in front of your firm’s sensitive data to help keep you compliant and secure. Dynamic Access Control is a feature that dynamically permits or denies access to specific applications, websites and files based on your firm’s compliance policy. Using advanced technology, Workplace analyzes a device's security and compliance status in real-time, and reports on those fundamental settings at regular intervals for as long as you are logged into your device.
View this article to learn more.
- Workplace - VDA Essentials Local
- Workplace - VDA Essentials Hybrid
Workplace - VDA Essentials Local
When Workplace is configured for local access, you device policy is set to Strict mode. This means that if your device passes all Required security checks, you have full access to Workplace and can work with local (native) apps.
However, if your device fails any Required checks, at any time:
- In Workplace for Windows and macOS and Workplace for Browsers, a popup window will alert you that your device is no longer compliant with your company's policy. You will be logged out in 3 minutes if you do not remediate the issue. Once you are fully compliant, you will be able to sign back into Workplace.
- In Workplace for Android and iOS, your Files tab will be grayed out, preventing access.
Workplace - VDA Essentials Hybrid
When Workplace is configured for hybrid access, device policy is set to Balanced mode. This means that your company has provided hosted applications that allow you to work in a protected environment, even when your device is out of compliance.
NOTE: Hosted apps are only available in Workplace for Windows and macOS. They are not available in Workplace for Android and iOS.
When your device is out of compliance, you'll discover that your local file syncing is turned off, because your Workplace drive will be unlinked. However, you will be able to access your data in a Hosted File Manager:
- Click the File Manager shortcut, which is the folder or hard drive icon in the Workplace for Windows and macOS, or
- Click the File Manager icon in Apps. The gray cloud indicates that it will open in Hosted File Manager.
Some highly sensitive websites can only be accessed in a hosted browser. A gray cloud will appear on your web app icons, indicating that they will be launched in a hosted browser, and not in a local browser.
Websites Blocked by Hosted Browser
The following categories of websites/internet traffic are blocked by default: