For companies using Workplace Local, the default access control for the All Users group is set to Strict, with the option to change individual enforcement checks to Recommended while onboarding.
The default for Workplace Hybrid is Balanced.
When your company chooses a Disabled policy, devices are checked by the Workplace app, but user workflows are unchanged by any check values. Whether or not a device passes or fails the checks, the user can onboard and have full access to Workplace.
When the Strict Policy is enforced, users will only be able to perform business functions when their devices pass all compliance checks.
- When a user is already logged in and their device goes out of compliance, a 3-minute warning popup window will appear, giving the user time to fix the issue. They will not be able to launch any additional apps during this time.
- If the user is logging in and their device does not pass all compliance checks, they can't get into Workplace.
Balanced (Workplace Hybrid only)
Your company may choose a Balanced policy, which means that if a device passes the checks, the user can continue to onboard and have full access to Workplace.
Or, if the device fails any checks, the user can still complete the onboarding process, but will be allowed limited access to Workplace:
- Local file syncing will be turned off and files will not be available locally.
- The Workplace (S:) drive will be unlinked.
- Clicking the File Manager shortcut (Folder icon/ Windows or Hard drive icon/ Mac) in the desktop app will launch the Workplace (S:) drive in a hosted Windows File Manager.
- You can edit files in a hosted app only.
- Local apps not supported in the hosted environment cannot be launched.
- Some websites (if mandated by the company manager) can only be accessed in a hosted browser.