When two people edit a document at the same time, it’s possible to get a file conflict. A file conflict looks like this:
Noooo! (Don't panic… We can fix this.)
- Person A edited a file.
- Person B started editing at the same time .
- Person A saved the file.
- Person B saved the same file.
Don’t panic, no changes got lost!
Here is what happened to the file:
- The file was saved twice with two different names:
- The file saved first (by person A), retains the original file name: In this case “Doc.docx”.
- The file saved later (by person B), got renamed to: “Doc (conflict at 2017-06-06 14-04-14 by Person B).docx”
How do I solve this problem?
- Make contact. Tell your coworker that this happened.
- Agree on who’s going to merge the file changes.
- When that’s done. Remove the conflicted file.
How do I prevent this from happening in the future?
- If others want to contribute, instead of editing files on your computer, edit together in the browser.
- If you’re going offline for an extended period of time, let your team know what files you’re planning on editing.
- Look for locked files. Files are locked when others are editing them. This is not supported everywhere yet.
If you’ve lost your work after all, contact support.